It’s CONival time!

By Anthony Feinman

It’s that time again. Convention time!

Ink and Feathers Comics will be attending one (and quite possible the only for this year) convention in Orland Park on March 4, 2017. It called CONival and will be taking place in Orland Park, IL. I bring this up as I am a little excited about going. The excitement is due to a few reasons. Firstly, I have not attended a convention for a number of years. Reason is mostly due to money. I’m a struggling artist who lives in his car and feeds his kitty ketchup packs that I “borrow” from the local McDonalds. No, that not true but it’s expensive to do conventions. You have to travel to where you’re going, pay for fuel not only for the car but yourself as well. What happens if you find that obscure item that you desperately need to complete your Pog collection? Well, there goes your profits (if you sell anything). All $2.00. What about the cost to produce your merchandise. That’s an expense as well. People are coming to purchase something from you, right? You can’t very well go, set up a table and only have yourself, the clothes on your back, and a writing utensil. That would be weird. This is not to say I have not seen some people do this in the past. But not only can it be weird, it can come across as awkward.

“Hi. I’m Anthony. Can I sign a body part for you? Oh, that’s a good body part. Rock on! Once I do you know that body part will be worth some money. Maybe. Ok, you might be worth enough to be traded for a cup of free coffee but nothing more. Oh, and for my signature, is it ok that I charge you $50. Sweet! Thanks for coming out!” See. Awkward AND weird.

Second on the list for not attending is no new products. That was until this past November that Tears of the Prophets was finally put in a published form that people can purchase. Which is swell as its been drawn for almost A DECADE. Plans change, things get in the way, and life happens. It just happens. Nothing I can do about it as I can only face each day one 24 hour period at a time. Sucks to be a linear being and only be aware of existence via linear time. I never said I was perfect.

Last, but certain not least, I get to interact with other like-minded mortals. SWEET! I can schmooze, flaunt, and brag about why I think I cool (I’m not). I get to breathe different air (smug filled city air) and give people who walk by a thumbs up for being so swell as to make an appearance at this little shindig. YAY!

Folks, it going to be a fun time and it’s FREE! That should make all you liberals out there extremely happy! I should know. I am one.

Come on by, get your face painted, get those nicely washed hands read by groovy palm readers, pick an artist’s brain about where they get their ideas, bug a merchant for their brilliantly crafted wares, and find that missing Alf pog that completes your collection. Trust me, it will be worth it. Mainly because I will be there breathing smog filled air with like-minded individuals. Don’t judge me, least ye be judged yourself!

PS. I don’t get out much these days….

See everyone Saturday, March 4th, 2017 from 10am til 5pm!

Be There & Be Square!

Orland Park Civic Center
14750 S Ravinia Ave
Orland Park, IL 60462

 

 

Leave a Reply

