Support Indie Comic Creators!

By Anthony Feinman

Anthony And Julie show off their commitment to the world of pop culture
Anthony And Julie show off their commitment to the world of pop culture

This past Saturday, Julie and I attended DanCon Fall 2013. Its been a long time since we have attended a show without actually having a table. It’s kind of nice to not have the pressure of waking up at the crack of dawn, getting your merchandise together, cash box counted and settled before commuting to a show’s location. One of the main thing that we both love about attending these shows is spending time talking to the various artists/writers/creators. Even though DanCon is small show (something that IF Comics pushes in relations to starving artists..see post Attending Conventions) it makes it so much easier to visit with almost all the creators in attendance. We were only there for a scant 2+ hours and had a kicking time seeing other people’s work, discussing their ideas, soon to be ideas , as well as where the industry is heading for us all as artists. I wanted to share with everyone some of the work that we got this time around from this small pool of talent.

Written by Greg Hiatt, illustrated by Peter W. Caton
Written by Greg Hiatt, illustrated by Peter W. Caton

First up is Greg Hiatt. I am always excited to talk to creators that are really into their projects. Greg pitched his book, Dick Mummy, as Dick Tracy if he was a zombie. For me, I’m not big into the horror comic genre but I’m a fan of mysteries and anything that seems pulp-ish in nature.  I have to admit just thumbing through this full color comic is visual eye candy. His work in this story is gorgeous and I look forward to divulging into this world filled with noir settings and dark yet lavish color schemes. Moon Comics has a few more titles in their arsenal and additional info can be found on their website, Moon Comics. I didn’t get a chance to ask Greg too much about his process as I was slightly distracted by his writer who was standing next to him dressed like a giant carrot. I’m sure it was promotion for their book, The Vegetable Wars. Check out their site for some previews.

DarkseidJuan Gomez is the next artist we visited with and I was surprised to learn that there is a good chance he and I meet when I was in my early teens! I handed him one of IF Comics business cards and he immediately recognized Terry Freedom. A FAN FROM THE OLD DAYS! Sweet! Even though I had purchased this gorgeous rendering of the new DC 52 version of Darkseid, we ended up trading the sketch card for a copy of Blitz Howser. I am stunned to see artists create these fantastic works on canvas’ no bigger than 2.5″ x 3.5″. I myself have illustrated a few artists cards but am nowhere near the level of Juan’s artistic talent. I had to have this piece as it just stands out as extremely powerful. It just great all around. We (Julie and I) conversed with him for some time talking about his current work and his hope to start churning out content as time allows. We hope to be seeing more his work in the future as it is my belief that it needs to be shared at all costs. Check out his work via his blog: Gomez 13

Writer, Austin Allen Hamlin has already contributed to two comic issues in hopes of bringing the topic of bullying to higher awareness.
Writer, Austin Allen Hamlin has already contributed to two comic issues in hopes of bringing the topic of bullying to higher awareness.

Austin Allen Hamblin is a true example of someone who has been influenced to share his talent with the world through his love of comic book artists through their visual storytelling. This nineteen year old (probably the youngest exhibitor at this functioned) has been recruited to participate is an extremely noble cause, stamping out BULLYING! He was contacted by the organizer, Pam Harrison (her work can be viewed via clicking on the comic cover to the right) to contribute to this publication which is given away to kids and young teens to help them deal with bullying at school. Mainly, to let them know that they are not alone and that this type of behavior should not be tolerated in any form. An extremely noble cause as Pam sends all her contributors free copies of the books for them to distribute or sell to help cover their efforts for their contribution. Austin was even nice enough to share with Julie and I his portfolio of original comic book work from well known comic artists. His portfolio alone could easily pay for ones full semester of credit hours in college. Check out more of Austin’s work at: Hamblin Comics

Russell Lissau contributed his writing talent for a short story as well as Denver Brubaker his writing and illustration talent to this brief anthology.
Russell Lissau contributed his writing talent for a short story as well as Denver Brubaker his writing and illustration talent to this brief anthology.

As anyone knows, I am immediately drawn to anything remotely cartoony in nature. So I couldn’t pass up the chance to check out this comic with writing by Russell Lissau as well as writing and illustration work by Denver Brubaker who were both attending this con. Cats and other small animals dominate this book which will make my tiger, Nerwonduh, extremely happy while Julie’s kitty, Goobers, may sniff it as it’s something new in the house. Goobers mainly tolerates my comic collection more for the fact that I occasionally feed her once in a while. She also seems to think that I have a warm lap.

Russell Lissau has also written a few other works for Omega Comics. They can be discovered at: Pop Goes the Icon. Check out Denver Brubaker’s blog at: Tales of a Checkered Man. I love the drawing styles in this comic and definitely looking froward to reading this.  More of Art Baltazar’s work can be found at:
Art Balatazar’s Electric Milk Creations Studios. Franco can be found at: Blindwolf Studios

Illustrator Christopher Mitten has an infinity for undead creatures
Illustrator Christopher Mitten has an infinity for undead creatures

Christopher Mitten is well known for his work for Dark Horse. Julie and I have seen him at two cons so far. We first got a chance to talk to him at the Kankakee Fantasy Con this year but had to cut our chat short since we had to get back to our table to meet fans. However, since we were not displaying for the Fall show, I finally was able to grab a copy of one of his comic stories. Christopher is awesome each time we have met him, he is always glad to be out and about with humans and not stuck in his office with gallons of coffee at his disposal drawing. He also seems to like to writhe his hands together much like Mr Burns from The Simpsons. I think he needs to get out more. Regardless, he is a great illustrator and I hope to start collecting more his work when I can afford it. The downfall of being a starving artist unfortunately. His work is totally rocking! Check more of his work on his personal website: Christopher Mitten

Written by John Metych, illustrated by Bill Maus
Written by John Metych, illustrated by Bill Maus

John Metych has his whole line of comic book creations under his company Beta 3. He is writer, letterer, editor, and publisher of his work. I picked up his crossover story with previous existing characters left over from the old Malibu Comics days. Anyone remember Malibu Comics? They were based out of California and at one time published stories for a big named property called Star Trek via Paramount. Strange that they went under. Anyway, John dug up a copy of his crossover that also had a signature from his illustrator. Why did he go through the trouble? I have an extremely adorable face! Plus it helps to have a booth babe dangling from ones arm dressed like Batgirl!

I would like to include his web page however, as of this time, it’s currently having technical difficulties. In the meantime, do a Google search for Beta 3 Comics.

Illustrated by Christopher Brault
Illustrated by Christopher Brault

I saw this card on Facebook way before the show started and wanted this piece. Does it not look exactly like Brian Cranston as Walter White?

I was fortunate that no one had bought it when I found Christopher Brault sitting with his long time old friend, Andrew Winkel writer and creator of Raceboy and Super Qwok. Christopher’s work is, like all the other artists displaying this past Saturday, is fab! Check out his work on his DeviantArt Page. Also make sure to check out Raceboy and Super Qwok Adventures available as a print edition or a digital download from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or Itunes. Andrew’s 300+ page is filled with short super hero adventure stories based on his four children. It’s a great read and one that people should check out and recommend for children 12 or under. Also check out Breaking Bad on AMC. Only Two episodes left!

Here are a few more artist that we got a chance to chat with but were unable to purchase as I ran out of funds. Collecting comics is like the worst vice ever!

Cory Amos is currently working on a succubus/ vampire character with an interesting twist. Check out his work at: Cory Amos

Mat Fasta does a variety of fantasy work that can be viewed at: Tiamat’s Garden

Brian Lee Martinez has a number of interesting projects lined up that I hope to see really soon. With a blend of anime and manga to his art style, I’m sure he will soon be an up and coming rising star in the indie scene. Check out his work at: Zanamaru

Thanks to all the creators for taking the time to answer my questions and share their thoughts with me. Hope we get a chance to do it again.

Buy more independent stuff my friends! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Support Indie Comic Creators!

  1. That’s great that you went out and talked with all these people! I think it’s wonderful you just went to a show. When I have a table, I try and walk around and meet people (and I’ve met and bought some wonderful people/comics in the process), but I still don’t think it’s the same as going just as a guest.

    1. I love showing my work! But it’s extremely hard to get away from your table and chat with your fellow exhibitors while your showing. We all need to support each other and the best way is to get known is through networking. Word of mouth is huge in this business as there is so much awesome stuff out there. The only way for people to know about the work is to talk about and leave reviews whenever possible. 🙂

      Thanks for the comment!

    1. Jim! I have a copy of your book from Kankakee Fantasy Con this past Spring. Good stuff! To anyone else out there, I would definitely be willing to do a trade. Trades are fun!

Leave a Reply

